My experience as Marine Biologist Intern at Coco Collection Resorts

During her 6 months internship with Coco Collection, Lisa Bauer was a remarkable addition to our Marine Biology team. Recently, Lisa started a new adventure and moved to Bali to obtain her Divemaster certificate. But it seems like she did not leave the Maldives completely: read all she has to say about her experience with us!

Looking back the past six month have been a dream come true: spending most of my time underwater, swimming with wild animals, showing and explaining the wonders of the Maldivian sea and living as close to nature as never before in my life!

What I cherish most about my experience at Coco Bodu Hithi: being able to express my love for the ocean and meeting the needs of guests at the same time.

A truly rewarding work experience!

Not only have I been trainee of the very passionate Marine Biologist Chiara Fumagalli but Paparazzi at the same time. Taking pictures for Coco Collection’s Sea Turtle identification Project was part of my daily routine.

At Coco Bodu Hithi, Coco Palm Dhuni Kolhu and Coco Privé, we treat the resident sea turtles like superstars

At Coco Bodu Hithi, Coco Palm Dhuni Kolhu and Coco Privé, we treat the resident sea turtles like superstars

Probably the most important aspect of my internship: spreading awareness. Generally unknowingly, we jeopardize the oceans and therefore our own well-being. Overfishing, plastic pollution and ghost nets were the main topics addressed during my interactions with guests and colleagues.

My favourite key word: RESPECT.

How does it feel to be a sea turtle entangled in a ghost net?

How does it feel to be a sea turtle entangled in a ghost net?

Apart from guest interactions I found a lot of joy and purpose in educating associates! Living and working with people of different cultural backgrounds not only taught me a lot, but also allowed me to share my knowledge with them.

Showing colleagues what they can do to act in a respectful way towards their environment became the favourite part of my conservational work. Together we joined snorkelling excursions, participated in reef and lagoon cleanings and planted coral frames for Coco Collection’s Coral Nursery Project.

Planting corals with my colleagues – A fun way to help sustaining Coco Bodu Hithi House Reef

Planting corals with my colleagues – A fun way to help sustaining Coco Bodu Hithi House Reef

And of course there is one animal species I fell in love with deeply: The Reef Manta Ray.

I was lucky enough to witness the Manta Ray season at Coco Bodu Hithi. Going out on boat excursions almost every day to see these charming animals filled me up with excitement and peace at the same time. I assisted guests in having a close yet respectful encounter with these gentle giants while taking pictures for Coco Collection’s Manta Ray Identification Project.

The most magical of all experiences: interacting with Reef Manta Rays at the Rasfari North cleaning station

The most magical of all experiences: interacting with Reef Manta Rays at the Rasfari North cleaning station

It gives me the greatest of pleasures having collected so many unforgettable memories in such a short time only!

Thank you Chiara Fumagalli for training and including me in your very important work to preserve the Maldivian wildlife and our oceans in general!

Thank you colleagues at Coco Bodu Hithi for creating a second home for me in the most beautiful environment!

Thank you Coco Collection for making my internship possible!

Holding the full moon in my hands at Coco Bodu Hithi

Holding the full moon in my hands at Coco Bodu Hithi

Leave a Reply for Coco Cares

