YOUR MARINE BIOLOGISTS FAVOURITE FISH- PART 6

Today we are bringing you the part 6 of “My favourite Fish” by Lucía, Marine Biologist Intern at Coco Bodu Hithi. Happy Reading!

The fish diversity that can be found in Bodu Hithi lagoon is amazing: countless shapes, sizes and colours… So it has been quite a hard task to choose my Top 4. I finally managed to select the ones that impressed me the most so far, and I would like to present them to you:

Number 4 belongs to the Coral Rabbitfish (Siganus corallinus)

These beautiful blue-spotted yellow fish like to swim around coral reef slopes and they especially like to be around Acropora corals, so they are easily found at the reefs of Bodu Hithi.

Their bright yellow colour impressed me so much! It is a very catchy tone underwater, you just cannot avoid looking at them! Their dark eyes are also quite spectacular, don’t you think?

A cute couple of Coral Rabbitfishes swimming in the reef

A cute couple of Coral Rabbitfishes swimming in the reef

Bronze medal goes to the Yellow Boxfish (Ostracion cubicus)

I was completely amazed when I found this elegant cube-shaped big fish at the reef. As you can see I am easily drawn to yellow creatures!

At first I was convinced it was a Porcupinefish but as I later found out, Boxfishes don’t inflate to defend themselves, they release a venomous slime, so I always try to keep my distance from them! Number 1 rule underwater, do not touch!

An adult Yellow Boxfish feeding in the shallow area of Bodu Hithi Reef

An adult Yellow Boxfish feeding in the shallow area of Bodu Hithi Reef

Silver medal is awarded to the incredible Short-nosed Unicornfish (Naso brevirostris)

The first thing that came to my mind when I saw this fish was ‘Unicorns really do exist!’ Only they are not horses with a horn, they are fish! At first I couldn’t believe my eyes, until I started seeing them more and more often swimming around the upper part of the reef drop-off.

I found very interesting the fact that they can change colour –showing a wide bluish white band– to impress other members of the species!

Spotter or Short-nosed Unicornfish peacefully swimming around Bodu Hithi reef

Spotter or Short-nosed Unicornfish peacefully swimming around Bodu Hithi reef

And at the pole position, the absolute winner of the Gold medal of this ranking is:

The White-spotted Eagle Ray (Aetobatus narinari)

These fast and graceful swimmers have won my heart ever since I saw the first one. Their sky-full-of-stars appearance leaves me breathless every time I am lucky enough to find them.

They can look similar to manta rays, but they are easily identified from their white-spotted backs and their long noses.

They like to swim in open waters and only go near the reefs to feed, mostly in the afternoons, so that is the best time to jump in the water in order to have an amazing encounter with them!

White-spotted Eagle Ray gracefully swimming at Bodu Hithi house reef

White-spotted Eagle Ray gracefully swimming at Bodu Hithi house reef

Leave a Reply for Coco Cares

